Welcome to wiereg.at

Here you will find the essential information on the UBO Register Act (WiEReG), and you can check whether you are subject to the obligation to register.

www.wiereg.at is a service and information platform of Malainer Rechtsanwalts GmbH on the subject of the Austrian UBO Register Act. All information on this website is provided to you free of any charge. Should you require additional support, please use our service offer.

The new UBO register act (WiEReG) was legislated by the Austrian National Council in September 2017 to implement regulations of 4th European directive against money laundering and terrorist financing. The centerpiece of this new law, which came into force on 15 January 2018, is the establishment of a register in which the ultimate beneficial owners (UBOs) of domestic companies, other legal entities and trusts must be registered.

Information regarding UBOs that is considered essential for the prevention of money laundering and terrorist financing has so far not been recorded separately in any register, and only with the new UBO register is a central register now established, listing the beneficial owners of companies, trusts and other legal entities.

The UBO register should provide an ideal starting point for identifying and verifying the identity of beneficial owners, thus making a significant contribution to the prevention of money laundering and terrorist financing. Domestic Austrian authorities, the Money Laundering Reporting Service and the service providers obligated to contribute in the fight against money laundering and terrorist financing (eg bank institutions, professionals, traders) can access data in the register for a quick overview of identity of beneficial owners.

The registration authority is the Federal Minister of Finance, whereby the implementation and operation of the register is carried out by the Federal Statistical Office Austria and the Bundesrechenzentrum GmbH. The first registration must be completed prior to August 16th, 2018 at the latest; otherwise fiscal proceedings will be initiated and a fine of up to EUR 200,000 can be imposed . However, if the registration is completed prior to November 16th, 2018 the penalty will not be imposed and the fiscal proceedings lapse.

On this website, you can quickly and without any further obligation check whether your company has to comply with the obligation to register in the UBO register. To get directly to the free self-test, please click here.

For general and background information about the Austrian UBO register please click here.

a quick introductionon the Austrian UBO register, suitable for your legal form, can be found here:

Austrian UBO deadlines

 

The UBO law enters into force

Jan, 15th 2018
 

Self-Check-Launch

From April, 16th 2018 the Self-Check-service on our website can be used

Apr, 16th 2018
 

3rd party registration

service providers (such as notaries, lawyers, accountants, etc.) can register their clients to the register

May, 2nd 2018
 

Deadline for UBO registration

August, 15th 2018

Deadline for UBO registration has expired on August, 15th 2018

Willkommen auf wiereg.at

Hier finden Sie die wesentlichen Informationen zum Wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer Registriergesetz (WiEReG), und können prüfen, ob Sie unter die Meldepflicht fallen.

www.wiereg.at ist eine Service- und Informationsplattform der Malainer Rechtsanwalts GmbH zum Thema Wirtschaftliche Eigentümer Registergesetz. Alle Informationen auf unserer Webseite stehen Ihnen selbstverständlich  kostenlos zur Verfügung.

Sollten Sie darüber hinausgehend Unterstützung benötigen, nutzen Sie bitte unser attraktives Leistungsangebot.

Das neue Wirtschaftliche Eigentümer Registergesetz (WiEReG) wurde vom österreichischen Nationalrat im September 2017 in Umsetzung der 4. EU-Geldwäsche-Richtlinie beschlossen. Kern dieses neuen, am 15.1.2018 in Kraft getretenen Gesetzes ist die Erstellung eines Registers, in das die wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer von inländischen Gesellschaften, anderen juristischen Personen bzw. Rechtsträgern sowie Trusts eingetragen werden müssen.

Die für die Verhinderung von Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung wesentlichen Informationen über wirtschaftliche Eigentümer wurden bisher in keinem Register gesondert erfasst und erst mit dem Register der wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer wird nunmehr ein zentrales Register eingerichtet, in das die wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer von Gesellschaften, Stiftungen und Trusts eingetragen werden.

Das Register der wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer soll einen idealen Ausgangspunkt für die Feststellung und Überprüfung der Identität von wirtschaftlichen Eigentümern bieten und so einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Verhinderung von Geldwäsche und Terrorismusfinanzierung leisten. Inländische Behörden, die Geldwäschemeldestelle und die in die Bekämpfung von Geldwäsche und Terrorismusfinanzierung eingebundenen Verpflichteten (z.B. Banken, freie Berufe, Gewerbetreibende) können auf die Daten im Register zugreifen und so einen raschen Überblick bei der Identitätsprüfung des oder der wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer(s) erlangen.

Registerbehörde ist der Bundesminister für Finanzen, wobei die Umsetzung und der Betrieb des Registers über die Bundesanstalt Statistik Österreich und die Bundesrechenzentrum GmbH erfolgen. Die erstmalige Meldung Betroffener muss bis spätestens 16. August 2018 erfolgen, widrigenfalls ab 16. August 2018 vom zuständigen Finanzamt automatisationsunterstützt ein Zwangsstrafenverfahren eingeleitet wird und empfindliche Geldstrafen von bis zu EUR 200.000,- verhängt werden können. Wird die Meldung an das Register der wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer allerdings innerhalb der gesetzten Nachfrist erstattet, dann wird die Zwangsstrafe nicht verhängt.

Auf dieser Website können Sie rasch und unverbindlich überprüfen, ob Ihr Unternehmen der Meldepflicht im Register der wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer nachzukommen hat. Um direkt zum kostenlosen Selbsttest zu gelangen, klicken Sie bitte hier.

Für allgemeine und Hintergrundinformationen zum Register der wirtschaftlichen Eigentümer klicken Sie bitte hier.

Einen raschen Einstieg, passend für Ihre Rechtsform, finden Sie hier:

WiEReG Termine

 

WiEReG tritt in Kraft

15. Jänner 2018
 

Self-Check Launch

Ab 16. April kann das Self-Check Service auf unserer Seite benutzt werden

16. April 2018
 

Meldung über Dritte

Berufsmäßige Parteienvertreter (Notare, Rechtsanwälte, Wirtschaftstreuhänder, etc) können ihre Mandanten im Register melden

2. Mai 2018
 

Meldefrist

Bis 16. August hat die erstmalige Meldung der Daten zu erfolgen.

16. August 2018

Die Meldefrist läuft am 16. August 2018 ab